Every God of War Ragnarok Difficulty Level Explained


For many people, God of War (2018) is one of the best first-party titles on the PlayStation 4, not just because of the game’s excellent story and combat, but also for how accessible it is. The game features a wide array of accessibility options, including four distinct difficulty settings, allowing players to tailor the experience to their exact requirements.

RELATED: God of War Ragnarok: How to Heal

God of War Ragnarok somehow manages to be even more customizable, with far more accessibility options than its predecessor and one extra difficulty setting. While having more choice is definitely a good thing for players though, it can make choosing the best difficulty setting in God of War Ragnarok a little tricky, particularly for those who are new to the franchise.


Which is the Best Difficulty Setting in God of War Ragnarok?

Give Me Story

Give Me Story is designed for people who want to focus primarily on the story, with combat becoming a lot simpler and easier when this option is selected. Players should think of it as a very easy mode, making it a great option for those unfamiliar with the hack-and-slash genre or those who already know that they are bad at it.

Give Me Grace

Give Me Grace is effectively God of War Ragnarok‘s easy mode. Enemies are a little tougher than they are in Give Me Story mode but should still go down without too much trouble. Like Give Me Story mode, Give Me Grace allows players to focus on the story while also giving them a small taste of the game’s combat.

Give Me Balance

Give Me Balance is the default difficulty setting in God of War games and is effectively the equivalent of a normal mode. Combat is challenging but still fairly forgiving, with certain boss fights having checkpoints to account for difficulty spikes. In all likelihood, Give Me Balance will end up being the best difficulty setting for most players.

Give Me No Mercy

Give Me No Mercy is the game’s hard mode and is recommended for those with strong combat skills. Timing parries and blocks become a lot more important than in easier modes, while boss battles will no longer feature checkpoints, meaning that players will need to restart from the very beginning if they run out of health.

Give Me God of War

Give Me God of War is not for the faint of heart. Players should think of it as an ultra-hard mode, in which lightning-fast reflexes are required. Unlike the game’s other difficulty settings, players will only be able to select Give Me God of War mode from the start of the game and will not be able to re-select it if they lower the difficulty setting midway through their playthrough. It’s very much a mode for experts and one that most players will find a little too challenging.

God of War Ragnarok is available now on PS5 and PS4.

MORE: God Of War: The History Of The World Tree & The 9 Realms


Source link

Scroll to Top