Apex Legends Ranked distribution and breakdown


Apex Legends Ranked distribution and breakdown


The Apex Legends ranked grind can be quite the mountain to climb, but it helps knowing where you stand and what to expect. Here’s the lowdown.

In every new season of Apex Legends, there are quite a few brave players who embark upon a journey. A journey to the summit of the Apex Legends leaderboards. Or at least as high as they can go. For many multiplayer gamers, ranked matchmaking is a point to prove. It’s something to demonstrate their skills and duke it out against other players to see how good they are at the game. For some of the best Apex Legends players, Ranked Matchmaking is a ladder for entering the pro-scene.

For many players, it would be a good idea to know where they stand and what kind of company they’re keeping. Thanks to third party stat trackers like Apex Legends Status, this knowledge is easily available. For those looking to test their mettle, here’s the lowdown on the Ranked scene in Apex Legends.

The Apex Legends Ranked system

Apex Legends Ranked information. Image via Respawn Entertainment and Electronic Arts.
Apex Legends Ranked information. Image via Respawn Entertainment and Electronic Arts.

Unlike most other modern competitive shooters, Apex Legends has a fairly simple Ranked system. Players must grind through seven tiers of ranks. They get rank points (RP) for kills, assists and match placement. Each season of Apex Legends features two splits of Ranked Matchmaking.

Each tier has four stages to climb through and advance through to the next tier. RPs stack across tiers, so there’s no need to worry about starting from scratch after each tier.

Players start out at Bronze IV and can potentially climb all the way through Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master and finally, Apex Predator. Apex Predator is a rank assigned only to the top 750 players by RP count. So beyond master, it’s a whole different ballpark.

Things start to get quite challenging from Gold because of factors such as match entry cost and negative placement points. Beyond Gold, players start to get much more competent. Climbing through the ranks turns into the challenge that it is.

Placement points are key, and players get more tactful and less aggressive at higher ranks, looking to duke it out in the final circle and take advantage of enemies engaged in gunfights.

Where do most players stand on Ranked?

Apex Legends Rank Percentage of Players
Rookie (Unranked) 8.5%
Bronze IV 19.1%
Bronze III 4.3%
Bronze II 4.2%
Bronze I 3.3%
Silver IV 4.1%
Silver III 4.1%
Silver II 4.6%
Silver I 3.6%
Gold IV 7.4%
Gold III 5.7%
Gold II 5.2%
Gold I 4.1%
Platinum IV 8.9%
Platinum III 3.2%
Platinum II 2.1%
Platinum I 1.6%
Diamond IV 4.8%

A quick look at the data from Split 2 of Season 14, provided by Apex Legends Status, paints an interesting picture.

  • 19.1% players don’t rank beyond Bronze IV. These are players that drop out of the Ranked grind early.
  • 8.5% players stay away from Ranked Matchmaking altogether and remain rookies.
  • Players that do make it past Bronze set goals at certain ranks. The first stage of every tier sees a spike in player count.
  • Platinum is where most players peak, with 8.9% players making it to Platinum IV and stopping.
  • The gap between Diamond III and Master is insignificant.
  • Bronze = 30.9%
  • Silver = 16.4%
  • Gold = 22.4%
  • Platinum = 15.8%
  • Diamond = 5.4%

Apex Legends Ranked is in need of an overhaul

While the RP system in Apex Legends Ranked is quite simple to understand at a surface level, the grind itself is tedious. Most players end up playing for position points and high-risk, high-reward is punished by third parties and negative RP. This is especially the case beyond Platinum.

The last time the Ranked system was overhauled, it was Season 13 and these changes weren’t received well. The developers launched Season 15 without a single update to Ranked as well, which further paints the picture.

Raviprakash Rao -

Raviprakash Rao

Apex Legends veteran, video game afficionado and all-round geek!


Source link

Scroll to Top